Meet the Blacks Soundtrack Cover Art

NEW YORK, March 21, 2016 /PRNewswire-iReach/ — Penalty Entertainment and Hidden Empire Film Group have teamed up to release the “Meet the Blacks” soundtrack with music from and inspired by the motion picture. The album will be available for purchase on CD and at digital retail worldwide via Penalty Entertainment, LLC/Sony Red on the movie release date of April 1, 2016.

Photo –

Meet The Blacks” starring Mike Epps is a comedy/horror hybrid spoofing the hit film “The Purge“. The Black family is getting out of Chicago in hopes of a better life. After Carl Black (Mike Epps) recently came into some unexpected funds, he takes his family and leaves the hustling lifestyle behind for something better. Carl, his wife Lorena (Zulay Henao), son Carl Jr. (Alex Henderson), daughter Allie Black (Bresha Webb) and cousin Cronut (Lil Duval) pack up and move to Beverly Hills. Turns out, Carl couldn’t have picked a worse time to move. They arrive right around the time of the annual purge, when all crime is legal for twelve hours. A who’s who of celebrities are featured in the film including Mike Tyson,Charlie Murphy, Gary Owen, Michael Blackson and many more.

The “Meet the Blacks” soundtrack compliments the film by fusing some of the hottest hip-hop songs from start to finish including an exclusive new release featured in the movie from Platinum Recording Artist Trina called “Forget That”featuring Steph Lecor  which will also appear on her upcoming album. Trina will also debut a video for “Forget That” to coincide with the soundtrack release that will include clips from the movie.

Additional artists on the soundtrack include “Statik KXNG” (Statik Selektah &KXNG CROOKED) with a new exclusive single called “Street Music“, Grammy Award winning artist Shaggy with “Boom Boom”, Grammy Award winning artist ‘Lecrae‘ with “The Fever” featuring Andy Mineo & Papa San, Rising Hip Hop artist Lil George with “Sauce” featuring French Montana and more.

Penalty Entertainment CEO, Neil Levine shares, “Penalty is honored to be in business with Hidden Empire Film Group to release a companion soundtrack album to their fantastic satirical film “Meet the Blacks”.

Meet the Blacks” Tracklisting:

  1. Boom Boom-Shaggy
  2. Oh Boy!-Fool Boy Marley
  3. The Fever (feat. Andy Mineo & Papa San)-Lecrae
  4. Sauce (featuring French Montana)-Lil George
  5. Forget That -Trina feat. Steph Lecor
  6. Street Music-STATIK KXNG
  7. Going Down-BeatKing
  8. Ready Set Go-Derek Minor
  9. Now (featuring Tragedy)-Capone-N-Noreaga
  10. Angelina Jolean-Rekstarr X Hi-Res
  11. Diamond Diabetes-Kstylis
  12. iMight-Lil’ Mo

Watch the Behind the Scenes teaser announcement for Trina’s “Forget That” video:

Behind the Scenes “Forget That” Photos: |

Download the “Meet the Blacks” Soundtrack:

About Penalty Entertainment

Launched in the early ’90s, the NYC based Penalty Recordings was originally a joint venture with then Tommy Boy/Warner Music and home to some of the biggest names in Hip-Hop music. The imprint went on to become one of the most respected and influential independent record companies of the ’90s. Penalty’s moniker and revolutionary spirit was also manifested in the lyricists they signed such as Noreaga (N.O.R.E.), CNN (Capone-N-Noreaga), Lord Finesse (DITC), The Beatnuts, J-Live, Crooked Lettaz (David Banner) and Skull Duggery with No Limit, in addition to the projects they initiated such as the AND 1 Mixtape DVD series.

In 2014, Founder/CEO Neil Levine restored the Penalty brand and announced a new partnership with Sony RED for a multi-year distribution deal covering North America inclusive of recorded music, artist and producer management, music publishing, touring and merchandising. Since the relaunch of the company, Penalty has released projects with artists Hi-Rez, eMC (Masta Ace, Wordsworth & Stricklin) and Joell Ortiz (Slaughterhouse) and Lil’ Mo.

In early 2015 Penalty signed a joint venture with Statik Selektah’s Showoff Records to release his project with Slaughterhouse member KXNG CROOKED(Slaughterhouse) called Statik KXNG. Other projects released included Capone-N-Noreaga, eMC and Beat King.

2016 releases will include the “Meet the Blacks” soundtrack and the highly anticipated new album from Trina.

About the Filmmakers

Deon Taylor, a Chicago native who grew up in Indiana and later Sacramento, most recently directed the critically lauded indie drama “Supremacy,” a chilling story about a family’s home invasion starring Danny Glover, Derek Luke and Evan Ross. “Supremacy” was executive produced by veteran filmmaker and longtime Quentin Tarantino collaborator Shannon McIntosh.

Roxanne Avent has produced all of Taylor’s films to date and co-founded Hidden Empire Film Group with him.

Rounding out the filmmaking team are Executive producer and NBA star Tony Parker, along with Michael Finley, Venu Kondle and Derek Dudley.

To date, Taylor’s films have all been financed by his longtime business partner and lead investor, Robert Smith. Robert Smith founded Vista Equity Partners in 2000 and is the firm’s Managing Principal. Vista has consistently ranked as one of the top Private Equity Firms in the world over the past 10 years with approximately $3 billion in capital under management.

Smith currently ranks #268 out of 400 on Forbes 2015 billionaires list.


For more information on the movie “Meet The Blacks” visit

For press inquiries regarding “Meet the Blacks” contact:

Darrick Angelone /

Media Contact: Rebecca ‘Rain’ Rodriguez, Penalty Entertainment, 646-682-7962,